RAID stands for Redundant Array of Independent Disks. RAID is a method of combining several hard drives into one unit. It offers fault tolerance and higher throughput levels than a single hard drive or group of independent hard drives.

RAID levels 0,1, 10 and 5 are the most popular.


The acronym RAID, originally coined at

UC-Berkeley in 1987, stood for Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks.




Number of Disks:

Size of Each Drive:

Select Your RAID Configuration:

Raid 0 (Stripe)

Raid 1 (Mirror) — 2 Drives

Raid 5 (Drives with Parity) — Minimum 3 Drives

Raid 6 (Drives with Double Parity) — Minimum 4 Drives

Raid 10 (Mirror+Stripe) or 0+1 (Stripe+Mirror) — Minimum 4 Drives

Raid 50 (Parity+Stripe) — Minimum 6 Drives

Raid 60 (Double Parity+Stripe) — Minimum 8 Drives

Total Available Space: TB


Need Help Choosing a Solution?

Submitting Form...

The server encountered an error.

Form received.


Intel Technology Provider Premium Logo
Supermicro Logo
Nexenta Logo
Juniper Networks Logo
Quanta Logo
Asus Logo
Kingston Technology Logo
nvidia logo

© Copyright 1993-2017. International Computer Concepts, Inc.

300 Wainwright Drive, Northbrook, IL 60062, USA

Facebook Icon Google+ Icon LinkedIn Icon Twitter Icon You Tube Icon